Blog

How much does website localization cost? Published prices for every route

What it costs to put a website into another language: per-word rates, machine translation APIs, proxies and platform add-ons, with a worked example.

By Nicolás Cerón · · Updated

A reading room at night where one open manuscript lies between two open books under a brass lamp, joined to both by a single crimson ribbon bookmark.
On this page

The short answer

Putting a website into another language costs three things: the words, the platform that serves them, and the work around the words. These are the prices vendors published on their own pages on 7 November 2026:

  • Human translation: from USD 0.06 to 0.12 a word for English to Spanish or Portuguese at vendors that list rates. Most agencies quote per project.
  • Machine translation: USD 10 to 27.50 per million characters after free allowances, which cover a small site's first draft.
  • Translation proxies: about USD 20 to 87 a month for two languages. The upper end buys translated URLs.
  • Platform add-ons: from nothing (Shopify's Translate & Adapt app, Sanity) to USD 35 per language a month (Webflow Localize Advanced, billed monthly). Some CMSs limit languages by plan instead.

For a 30-page, 15,000-word site going into Spanish and Portuguese, that works out to USD 1,800 to 3,600 one-off for human translation, or about USD 2,400 to 2,700 in the first year for a proxy or a native Webflow build with a native reviewer. The SEO setup, forms, legal pages and design work come on top. The worked example below shows every line.

What you're paying for

CostHow it's billedWhat drives it
The wordsPer word (human) or per character (machine), once, then again for every updateWord count, number of languages, type of content, depth of review
The platformPer month or year, per language or per word allowanceNumber of languages, word limits, translated URLs, traffic
The work around the wordsPer projectURLs and hreflang, search research per language, forms and emails, images, legal pages, QA, upkeep

Most pages about website localization cost stop at these factors. The rest of this guide puts a published price on each one where the vendor publishes it, and says so where it doesn't. Prices are before tax, in US dollars unless the vendor lists euros.

Route 1: human translation, priced per word

VendorServicePublished price, English to Spanish or Portuguese
GengoStandard: translation by a native speakerFrom USD 0.06 a word
GengoAdvanced: for formal business useFrom USD 0.12 a word
MotaWordHuman translation with editing and proofreadingStarts at USD 0.09 a word; varies by language
MotaWordMachine translation plus post-editingStarts at USD 0.06 a word
MotaWordProofreadingStarts at USD 0.06 a word
WeglotProfessional translation ordered from inside WeglotFrom EUR 0.13 a word
MotionPoint, SmartlingManaged website translationNot published: quoted after they size your content
LocalizePlatform with AI translation and human reviewCustom plans from USD 25,000 a year; partner translators billed separately

Gengo's English–Portuguese page lists the same 6 and 12 cents, and its language pricing table charges a cent less a word through its API. Three things to know before you multiply:

  • "From" is a floor. Vendors price by language pair, subject and deadline, and MotaWord says its rate varies by language.
  • Agencies often don't publish a rate card. MotionPoint asks for your languages and estimated word count; Smartling says its team sizes your content, workflows and languages before recommending a plan.
  • A translator returns text, not pages. Someone still has to put it into the CMS, fix layouts where it runs longer (Gengo notes that English text can expand by up to 25% in Spanish) and check it on the live page.

Route 2: machine translation APIs, priced per character

Machine translation is billed by the character, not the word. We assume 6 characters per English word, counting the space after it; 5 to 6 is typical, and 6 keeps the estimate on the safe side. A 15,000-word site is then about 90,000 characters for each target language. You pay once per target language, and Google counts every character you send, including spaces and HTML tags (Google Cloud).

APIFree allowancePrice after it
Google Cloud Translation, NMT500,000 characters a month, applied as a USD 10 monthly creditUSD 20 per million characters. The Translation LLM costs USD 10 per million input plus 10 per million output
DeepL APIDeveloper: a one-time credit of 1 million charactersGrowth: USD 26 a month billed yearly with 12 million characters a year, or USD 32.50 monthly with 1 million a month; USD 27.50 per extra million
Amazon Translate2 million characters a month for the first 12 monthsUSD 15 per million characters
Azure AI Translator2 million characters a month on the free tierUSD 10 per million characters on S1, per Microsoft's retail prices API

DeepL showed the same US-dollar prices with the United States, Colombia, Mexico or Brazil selected as the country. For the example site, the machine pass costs nothing: 180,000 characters fit inside every free allowance above, and at list price they would cost USD 1.80 (Azure) to 4.95 (DeepL's extra-character rate).

The money goes into fixing what the machine gets wrong. Google treats localized pages as duplicates only when their main content stays untranslated (Google Search Central), so translated pages aren't penalized for being translations; the risk is quality. On 14 October 2026 we retired 15 machine-translated languages from dardo.studio: 795 of its 954 URLs, bringing about four search clicks a week. Our multilingual SEO guide explains that decision.

Route 3: translation proxies and plugins, priced per month

A proxy (Weglot, ConveyThis, MotaWord Active) translates your pages and serves them at language URLs without rebuilding the site. A WordPress plugin (TranslatePress, WPML) stores the translations in your own site. Both include machine translation up to a word allowance, so the price is mostly a subscription.

ToolPlan that covers two languagesTranslated URLsWord allowance
WeglotBusiness: USD 32 a month or 320 a year (EUR 29 or 290), 3 languagesFrom Pro: USD 87 a month or 870 a year50,000 words on Business, 200,000 on Pro, counted across all languages; a fixed limit that doesn't renew
ConveyThisBusiness: USD 24 a month or 240 a year, 3 languagesFrom Pro: USD 64 a month or 640 a year200,000 machine-translated words on Business, 800,000 on Pro
MotaWord ActiveStarter: USD 49.99 a month, 3 languages, up to 20 pagesNot stated on the pricing pageLimited by pages: Business, USD 249.99 a month, allows 100
TranslatePress, WordPressPersonal: EUR 99 a year, 1 siteIncluded50,000 AI-translated words; 100,000 more for EUR 24
WPML, WordPressMultilingual CMS: EUR 99 a year, 3 production sitesNot stated on the pricing page22,500 AI-translated words, topped up at each renewal

What the plan names don't tell you:

  • Translated slugs cost more. Weglot and ConveyThis reserve URL translation for their Pro tiers. If you want /es/precios/ rather than /es/pricing/, budget for Pro.
  • Word limits are total, not monthly. Weglot counts unique words across all your languages, and the limit doesn't renew. Our 15,000-word site in two languages uses 30,000 of Business's 50,000.
  • Leaving has a price. With a proxy, the translations live in the vendor's system. Weglot lists export and import of translations on its Advanced plan (USD 329 a month), so check how you'd take your translations with you before you commit.
  • WPML's cheaper plan isn't for business sites. The EUR 39 Multilingual Blog plan doesn't translate menus or text from themes and plugins.

Route 4: localization built into your platform

PlatformPrice for extra languagesWhat to know
Webflow LocalizeEssential: USD 9 per locale a month billed yearly (12 monthly), up to 3 locales. Advanced: USD 29 (35 monthly), up to 10Essential includes 10,000 AI-translated words a month per locale, Advanced 50,000. Translated URLs, asset localization and automatic visitor routing are Advanced only. Added to a site plan: Basic USD 15 or Premium USD 25 a month, billed yearly
FramerUSD 20 per locale a month, up to 20Added to Basic (USD 10 a month) or Pro (USD 30) with yearly billing; AI translation draws on the plan's monthly credits
Shopify Translate & AdaptFree appShopify's own translations for up to 2 languages, or 8 in select countries; manual translations unlimited. Stores sell in up to 20 languages, 30 on Plus (Shopify Help)
ContentfulFree: 2 locales. Lite: USD 300 a month, 3 locales. Enterprise: customEvery space has a default locale, so English plus Spanish and Portuguese is three locales
SanityNo charge per localeLimited by unique attributes per dataset: 2,000 on Free, 10,000 on Growth (USD 15 per seat a month)
HubSpot Content HubMulti-language content: 3 languages on Free, 50 on Starter, unlimited on Professional and EnterpriseProfessional starts at USD 450 a month for new customers (USD 500 list), with 3 core seats
Coded site, such as Astro or Next.jsNo locale feeThe cost is development: routing, hreflang, a language switcher and metadata, built once

Platform fees are rarely the biggest line; their limits matter more. On Webflow, translated slugs need Advanced; on Framer, AI translation spends credits; on Contentful, a third language is the step from free to USD 300 a month. Our guides to Webflow pricing, Framer pricing and Contentful pricing cover the rest of each plan.

The work around the words

Factor lists describe this part and nobody prices it, because it depends on the site. It's usually quoted per project, and it decides whether the second language works:

  • URLs and hreflang. Google recommends a separate URL for each language version rather than cookies or browser settings (Google Search Central). Each version must list itself and every other version, and if two pages don't point to each other, Google ignores the tags (Google Search Central).
  • Search research per language. Titles, descriptions and headings written from what people search in that market, not translated from your English keywords.
  • Images, screenshots and video. Text inside images, product screenshots and subtitles. On Webflow, asset localization is part of Localize Advanced.
  • Forms, emails and messages. Labels, error states, confirmation emails, autoresponders and the CRM fields behind them. A Spanish form that sends an English confirmation email undoes the page.
  • Legal pages. Privacy notices and terms need a qualified translator or counsel for each jurisdiction, not the cheapest tier.
  • Native review. A fluent reviewer reads every page in context before launch. At MotaWord's published proofreading rate, from USD 0.06 a word.
  • Layout. Navigation labels, buttons and headings need room for the longer language.
  • Upkeep. Every new page or price change becomes two or three edits, and each language needs an owner.

Worked example: 30 pages, 15,000 words, into Spanish and Portuguese

The assumptions:

  • 30 pages with 15,000 English words, counting navigation, forms and emails.
  • Two target languages, so 30,000 translated words.
  • 6 characters a word: 90,000 characters per language, 180,000 billed characters.
  • Published "from" prices read on 7 November 2026, before tax and card fees.

The words, one-off

LineArithmeticCost
Machine draft, any API above180,000 characters, inside every free allowanceUSD 0 (USD 1.80 to 4.95 at list price)
Machine translation plus post-editing, MotaWord30,000 words × USD 0.06From USD 1,800
Human translation, Gengo Standard30,000 × USD 0.06From USD 1,800
Human translation with editing, MotaWord30,000 × USD 0.09From USD 2,700
Human translation, Gengo Advanced30,000 × USD 0.12From USD 3,600
Professional translation through Weglot30,000 × EUR 0.13From EUR 3,900
Native review of machine output, MotaWord proofreading30,000 × USD 0.06From USD 1,800

The cheapest published human rate and the cheapest published post-editing rate are the same 6 cents, from different vendors. That says more about how "from" prices work than about the methods: MotaWord itself puts its post-editing at up to 30% below its full human translation.

The platform, per year for two languages

OptionArithmeticPer year
Coded site with SanityNo locale feeUSD 0
TranslatePress Personal, WordPressYearly licence; 30,000 words fit its 50,000EUR 99
WPML Multilingual CMS, WordPressYearly licence; its 22,500 words cover 75% of the 30,000EUR 99
Webflow Localize Essential2 locales × USD 9 × 12USD 216 (288 billed monthly)
ConveyThis Business or ProYearly priceUSD 240 or 640
Weglot Business or ProYearly priceUSD 320 or 870
Framer2 locales × USD 20 × 12USD 480
Webflow Localize Advanced2 locales × USD 29 × 12USD 696 (840 billed monthly)
MotaWord Active Business30 pages exceed Starter's 20: USD 249.99 × 12USD 3,000

These exclude the site plan itself (Webflow, Framer or Shopify) and hosting. On Webflow Essential, 15,000 words per language is more than a month's 10,000-word allowance, so the first machine pass spans two months or part of it is done by hand.

Four routes, first year

RouteOne-offPer year afterFirst year
(a) Human translation into a site with no locale feeUSD 1,800 to 3,600 (Gengo)Updates onlyUSD 1,800 to 3,600
(b) Machine draft plus post-editing, on a site with no locale feeFrom USD 1,800 (MotaWord)Updates onlyFrom USD 1,800
(c) Weglot Pro with its machine translation, plus native reviewFrom USD 1,800 for reviewUSD 870From USD 2,670
(d) Native Webflow build: Localize Advanced, its AI translation and native reviewFrom USD 1,800 for reviewUSD 696From USD 2,496

None of these lines includes the multilingual build or setup, hreflang, search research per language, forms and emails, legal review or design. Year two drops to the subscription plus updates: if you add 1,500 English words a year, that's 3,000 translated words, from USD 180 at 6 cents.

Which route fits

SituationRoute that usually fits
You want to test demand in a new language on a small siteA proxy on a monthly plan, with the pages that lead to contact reviewed by a native speaker
Your pages carry prices, legal terms or lead formsHuman translation or post-edited machine output, a named reviewer and the site's own language URLs
You're redesigning or rebuilding anywayA native multilingual build, so languages are part of the content model from the start
You run WordPress and plan to stayTranslatePress or WPML, plus review
You sell on ShopifyTranslate & Adapt, plus review of product, checkout and email text
Many languages and weekly updatesA translation management platform such as Smartling or Localize, quoted for your volume
You serve Spanish speakers in one citySpanish written for that market, as in our guide to Spanish-language websites for Toronto businesses

For a US business adding Spanish, our bilingual English–Spanish website guide covers when the second language pays off and how to rank in Spanish.

How we handle it at Dardo

dardo.studio is published in English, Spanish and Portuguese, and every translation is its own entry with its own address, linked to its English original. We work in English and Spanish every day, and we build real language versions rather than browser widgets, because a script that translates text in the visitor's browser doesn't create pages search engines can index. When our machine-translated languages didn't earn their keep, we removed them. Multilingual website projects are quoted per scope in a written proposal; see pricing.

What to do next

  1. Count your words, including navigation, forms, emails and legal pages, and multiply by the number of languages.
  2. Name who reviews each language before you buy anything.
  3. Pick a route from the table above, then price the site itself: our website cost calculator shows what published prices suggest.
  4. Plan URLs and hreflang with the checklist in our multilingual SEO guide.
  5. If you'd like us to scope it, tell us about your site.

Common questions

How much does it cost to translate a website?

It depends on the words and the route. At rates published on 7 November 2026, human translation starts at USD 0.06 to 0.12 a word, so a 15,000-word site costs from USD 900 to 1,800 per language. Machine translation of the same site fits inside free API allowances, and proxy subscriptions cost about USD 20 to 87 a month for two languages. SEO setup, forms and legal pages come on top.

What does website localization cost per word?

Vendors that publish rates list USD 0.06 (Gengo Standard) to 0.12 (Gengo Advanced) for English to Spanish or Portuguese, from USD 0.09 for MotaWord's human translation with editing, and from EUR 0.13 for professional translation ordered through Weglot. MotionPoint, Smartling and many agencies quote per project instead.

Is machine translation good enough for a website?

As a first draft, often yes, and for a small site it costs nothing within the APIs' free allowances. Published without review, it's a risk on pages with prices, legal terms or lead forms. Have a fluent reviewer read every page in context; MotaWord publishes proofreading from USD 0.06 a word. We removed 15 machine-translated languages from our own site in October 2026.

How much does CMS localization cost?

Sanity doesn't charge per locale, Contentful includes 2 locales free and 3 on Lite at USD 300 a month, Webflow Localize costs USD 9 to 35 per locale a month, Framer USD 20 per locale a month, and HubSpot's multi-language content goes from 3 languages on Free to unlimited on Professional. On a coded site there's no locale fee; the cost is building routing, hreflang and the language switcher.

How many characters is a word for machine translation pricing?

Plan on 5 to 6 characters per English word, counting spaces; we use 6 to stay on the safe side. APIs bill per character for each target language, and Google counts spaces and HTML tags, so 15,000 words into two languages is about 180,000 billed characters.

Do translation proxies cost money every month?

Yes, for as long as they serve your translated pages. Weglot, ConveyThis and MotaWord Active are monthly or yearly subscriptions, and Weglot's word limit is a fixed total rather than a monthly allowance. Check how you'd export your translations before you commit; Weglot lists export and import on its Advanced plan.

Sources & further reading

Sources behind this page, with further detail from the original publishers.